Blogger Says What?

The Simon Cowell of Web 2.0

This Buds all through

Herestobeer.com – This site was launched in January of 2006 and was intended to promote the entire beer industry. Anheuser-Busch wanted to highlight the social aspects of beer drinking using this site. In phase II of this campaign Herestobeer has partnered with social network MingleNow.com to bring beer drinkers together encouraging clubbers and bar patrons to post photos of friends toasting with beer bottles and mugs.

The ‘Here’s to Beer’ campaign wasn’t as big of a success as Anheuser-Busch had expected. The sites “lack of success” can be measured by Technorati’s 330 or so links to the site and Compete’s minimal traffic ranking. Personally I’m not a big Anheuser-Busch fan. I mean sure it got the job done when I was in college, but asking me to sit down and have a beer with a dead guy? C’mon!! Thats not interesting or engaging!!

If you ask me I think that Anheuser-Busch might have checked themselves into AA with this campaign because I definitely agree with Adrants and Jay on this one.

March 27, 2007 - Posted by | Social Media, Web 2.0

1 Comment »

  1. I’m definately a beer girl – and have yes, ordered a Bud on draft…recently. But my favorite hangout is a new brewery in NC, Big Boss, that makes amazing IPAs, Stouts and Pilsners. Basically, I called up to say two things: One, Bud made a “wise” decision – ain’t nothing wrong with keeping your head above water by hopping on the Web 2.0 train. And two, hey! I’m a 23 year old Gemeni too.

    Comment by Jennifer | March 29, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

